Skip to content

New dress

September 5, 2012

I made myself this dress. I really like it! It’s from Vogue 8810, if you want to make your own.

I made the following changes:
1. At the shoulder, the pattern calls for gathers, but I used little pleats. This was better suited to the fabric, which is this superawesome lightweight cotton that someone very special gave me for my birthday last year. I realize that many of you might be putting away your white shoes and are not into bright tropical florals this time of year (or ever), sorry. One of the upsides to living on Guam is that bright tropical florals are always appropriate.
2. I changed the grainline on the skirt to be centered in each panel.
3. It has a self-tie belt, but I think it looks nicer with a real belt.
4. I made a narrow hem using Susan Khalje’s method, aka “possibly the most annoying hem ever.” Note to universe: a narrow hem foot would make an excellent gift.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce Romine permalink
    September 5, 2012 9:42 am

    Great dress! You are such a wonderful seamstress. And the universe has heard your request for the narrow hem foot. The universe cannot remember , however, what kind of Viking machine you have.

  2. Tomomi permalink
    September 6, 2012 7:15 am

    Ohhh absolutely love the dress (and the belt and the shoes too)!!!!

  3. arlemonbar permalink*
    September 6, 2012 8:23 am

    Thanks so much for the compliments, sweeties! And thank you universe, I have a Sapphire 850.

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    October 15, 2012 10:41 am

    I love the dress and the fact that you probably already owned the perfect shoes for it.

Leave a Reply

