Skip to content

The king of fruits

March 16, 2012

Whoa, you guys, John and I had a chance to eat durian and it was delicious and weird! Our friends Doug and Julie invited us over to share this rare treasure with us. If you’ve never heard of it, durian is a  large tropical fruit that has a very strong and unusual aroma, flavor and texture. It looks like something out of an old science fiction movie. To the extent that a fruit can be infamous, durian is infamous for grossing people out. (Well, white people, anyway.)

So Doug cut the durian open and there is a noticeable smell. It’s funky and vaguely vegetal. Then he scooped out the big squishy seed pods.

That’s the part you eat, and the texture is unbelievable: just like custard. I still don’t understand how a tree can make custard without milk or eggs. And the flavor is all over the place, sometimes switching from caramel to onions while you’re chewing it. I like the caramel bits a lot, the onion parts not so much. While I wouldn’t want to eat it every day, I’d line up with the durian lovers and not durian haters.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 3:41 am

    Ah, durian! I was told that everyone either loves or hates durian, but I seem to be that rarest of persons: someone indifferent to durian. I got to try some when I was in Singapore in 2006, and while I thought it was an okay flavor, it was a surprisingly potent one. After I had it, I went back to my hotel and brushed my teeth three times, and still, everything I ate for the rest of the day tasted of durian. My description of the fruit has always been to imagine you’re eating something that’s a cross between garlic and mango.

  2. April 11, 2012 5:53 am

    Yay! So glad you tried this. I had some on my next-to-last visit to Hawaii.

  3. Chris permalink
    June 27, 2012 8:01 am

    Very cool! I’ve been curious to try a durian since someone introduced me to the band “Durian”. http://www.last.fm/music/Durian/Sometimes+You+Scare+Me

Leave a Reply

