Skip to content

Green dress

July 1, 2011

Check it out, I made a cute dress!

Chic tropical minimalism, right? (I hope?) I started with a tunic pattern I’ve had forever, New Look 6344, and lengthened it. The fabric is raw silk. I’m a big fan of raw silk: it’s breathable, affordable, has great drape, and you can get away without lining it. To add shape without compromising comfort, I shirred the waist. Shirring was a new technique for me, but it’s really easy, you just use elastic thread in the bobbin and sew rows of straight stitches. This is what it looks like:

My sewing fussiness is reaching the point where I really don’t like to see raw edges, so my new dress looks just as nice on the inside as it does on the outside.

Turned-under and stitched seam allowances! Tidy!

Fuschia bias trim for the armhole and neck facing! Sassy!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally permalink
    July 1, 2011 9:48 am

    oh my god, I love it! You look hot, and not in a humid-in-the-tropics sort of way. The hot pink seam binding is freaking awesome! Now will you make me one?
    xoxox

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      July 1, 2011 10:11 am

      Why thank you, sweetie! I’ll happily make you one, but it’s going to be hard to fit it from here. You could whip one of these out in a few hours, though. There’s no hand sewing!

  2. July 2, 2011 12:34 am

    I love it! And I hear you about not having raw edges showing. I’ve got to alter some of my bag patterns soon to accompany this latest desire for no raw edges. Overcasting is so yesterday and French Seams are TODAY! 🙂

  3. Tomomi permalink
    July 2, 2011 2:37 am

    I love everything about this dress!!!! And your earrings as well 🙂 You look amazing, tropical beauty!

  4. July 6, 2011 9:27 am

    Very nice, especially the detail with the edges. Looks selvage-y.

  5. Warren permalink
    July 10, 2011 11:06 pm

    I shirr my own underwear all the time.

  6. Warren permalink
    July 10, 2011 11:06 pm

    But I don’t know what that means tho.

  7. Aunt June permalink
    July 29, 2011 4:09 am

    you look marvelous. Dress ain’t bad either.
    Love it. I too wish you could make me one too. Love the color.
    And to use that fuschia on the inside. well I would get so confused about which side is the outside. Love it. Love you.

Leave a Reply

