Skip to content

So I might have a pet chicken

June 24, 2011
tags:

Tonight we were sitting outside having dinner (chicken cacciatore, the irony!) and noticed a ferocious peeping from the yard. There was a leeetle white chick next to a potted plant. “aww, look at that little chick” I said; I’m always excited when there are new baby chicks. Then my neighbor told me that he’d seen it for the past couple of days, alone, that a dog or a car must have gotten the mother hen. Well, after some more peeping and heartbreak and desperation, I decided to give the little guy some leftover rice I had in the fridge. Usually the chickens are skittish, even if you have food, but the little chick pecked at the rice and then ran right up to me and stood on my foot. And peeped at me.

So now there’s a baby chicken in a cardboard box in the office. This is not how I expected my evening to go.

20110624-103426.jpg

20110624-103451.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 7:45 am

    Awww! I had a baby chicken once when I was about 5. Take lots of pictures and post to share.

Leave a Reply

