Skip to content

Don’t worry, everything’s fine in Guam.

March 11, 2011

After the earthquake in Japan, we had a tsunami warning tonight. John and I had to leave for higher ground (that being the Korean restaurant at the mall) and it was scary, but luckily, no tsunami here. Now we’re safely back at home with cold beverages and CNN.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. david moss permalink
    March 12, 2011 12:58 am

    Thank you, Aly, for letting us know so soon! The Miller Leepers in Japan are OK too!
    We love you!
    Dad

  2. Tomomi permalink
    March 12, 2011 1:11 am

    I was going to call you and saw this post just now. I’m so glad that you and John are safe!

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      March 12, 2011 8:33 am

      Have you been able to reach your mom, Tomomi? Is she okay?

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    March 12, 2011 3:48 am

    YAY!!

    And it’s good to know that should there have been an issue, you’d at least have Korean BBQ.

  4. Judy Scott permalink
    March 12, 2011 4:11 am

    Thanks so much for the post. So glad that Guam didn’t expereince great fall out from the tsunami. Have a great party tonight.

  5. June permalink
    March 12, 2011 4:52 am

    I am glad you are both safe and sound. Have had you on my mind all morning, and emailed your Mom and she said A-ok So , take care, and glad I now have your website.
    Love and kisses,
    Aunt June

  6. Tonya permalink
    March 12, 2011 10:16 am

    I don’t really know you, other than reading your blog through the recommendation of a mutual friend, but I’m glad that you have posted and that you’re okay. I guess my geographical skills are seriously lacking because I didn’t realize how close Guam is to Japan until I saw this map:

    And I’m all like “OMG I have to check on AR Lemonbar!” ❤

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      March 14, 2011 11:39 am

      Wow, Tonya, that’s really sweet! Thanks so much, and it’s great to “meet” you. Don’t worry about your geography–I wasn’t able to find Guam on a map until we decided to move here, and we basically are on a speck in the middle of the Pacific.

Leave a comment