Skip to content

Gah! The shame!

February 8, 2011

Crap sandwiches, you guys. I’m sorry it’s been so long. Christmas break was wonderful. It was so, so nice to spend quality time (though not enough, not ever enough) with family and friends. I’ll probably get a little misty if I think about it too much now, actually. Thank you to everyone who made it awesome (you know who you are).

Oh, look! Here are pictures of some awesome people right here.

We had long layovers at Narita airport on both ends of our trip. It’s my new favorite airport! There are awesome bathrooms with freaky Japanese toilets, pay showers, tiny free shots of delicious whisky, a little shop that’s practically an origami museum, and it’s not too loud. When you fly from Guam to the Mainland through Japan, it works like this: you get up at 3:00 a.m., travel for like 27 hours, and IT’S ALWAYS TUESDAY. I swear, I ate lunch about five times on Tuesday, maybe six. Also, between the trip both ways, I was shown “Eat, Pray, Love” approximately fifteen times. Then, on the way home, you travel for 24 hours, and Wednesday totally disappears.

I had a…let’s just call it a “gastrointestinal situation” on the long flight from San Francisco to Japan. So we got there, and we think, no problem, we’ll just pop into the airport drugstore. We pick out our camping spot, John’s guarding the bags, and I go to the airport shop with the big cross symbol that sells lots of little boxes (presumably) full of pills. So, they don’t sell Pepto. As far as I can tell, nothing is even pink. And I’m looking at the pictograms, and maybe it’s just the post-holiday bloat, but all I see are diet pills, identifiable by little pictograms of chubby little bear/dog creatures who are shrinking. Diet pills everywhere.

So then I got overwhelmed and I left. After having some tea and a little relaxation time, we went back together. John, mystically, found the section of the shop with with boxes featuring pictograms of stomachs. First, he spotted a bright green one with a stomach with lightning bolts coming out of it. And I say, no, I think I should get this one with the picture of the guy grabbing his gut (his radioactive gut):

Then we had a really fun chat with the pharmacist (whose English was really very good) about my symptoms. But I’m fine now, don’t worry, and even though it’s a moderately crazy trip, I’d make it again in a second.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    February 9, 2011 8:23 am

    There you are! That picture is worth a thousand words. 😉

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    February 19, 2011 4:35 am

    I love this.

    I think that if the guy with the radioactive gut had been a lady, that might have been cramp medicine. When I come see you I will bring my own drugs so I don’t have to decide under pressure whether I have lightening bolts or a radioactive glow coming out of my gut.

Leave a Reply

