Skip to content

I totally did this.

October 19, 2010
tags:

So, laundry here has been a little bit complicated. I figured, it’s hot, we’ll just use a clothesline, no problem. When we moved in, we tied one end of some clothesline to our porch and the other end to a tree, bought some clothespins, and figured we were all set up.

There were some problems with this plan. First, it’s the rainy season, which means it rains at least once a day for a few minutes, and we’ve also had several really monsoony days. You had to be careful to catch the clothes in the window when they were actually dry. Secondly, it was ugly. Third, the clothesline sagged terribly, because it was so long, and we precariously propped it up with a stick.

I guess we could have bought a dryer. But none of our neighbors have them, and I didn’t want to John and I to be “those fancypants people from California who bought a dryer.” Also, the polar bears aren’t going to save themselves from global warming. Anyway, here is my beautiful solution. I am feeling really proud of the clothesline I made. Built, I should say. CONSTRUCTED.


First, I made this support post out of some pressure treated lumber that our previous tenants had left behind. I used a hand saw and our trusty rechargeable-battery drill. Then I dug a large hole, set the post in it, made sure everything was plumb and level, and braced the post against the ground with some spare lumber. I mixed up a bag of concrete and poured it into the hole. Sadly, it only filled up half the hole, and John had the car and we wound up mixing and pouring the second bag of concrete in the dark. I don’t recommend that.

Next, I placed evenly-spaced, level eye screws (with anchors) for the other ends of my lines in the wall next to our back patio.

After the concrete cured, I tied on the clotheslines. They are under a roof, hooray! I even learned some new knots (thanks, youtube) so that everything is secure. Wet laundry is heavy, after all.

I can easily take down the lines using those little removable links if I want the patio to look classier, but the whole thing is high enough on the wall that it doesn’t interfere with the view.

Yay!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tomomi permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:18 pm

    Wow! You are one of fancy-creativepants people from California! This is AMAZING!

  2. October 20, 2010 1:16 am

    That is an awesome project. Good work, darling daughter!

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    October 21, 2010 5:31 am

    Posts like this one are reminders of exactly how much I want to be like you one day.

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      October 21, 2010 7:21 am

      Oh, lady. I doubt I deserve that. Thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

