Skip to content

Shower curtain

October 9, 2010

So, our new place, while wonderful, has some minor flaws. One is that some of the late 70s or early 80s are lurking around, especially in the bathroom and kitchen. Both of those rooms have this pinky-beigey-mauvey tile. Approximately the color of a band-aid. The bathroom actually has three different versions of this color: the tile on the walls, the tile on the floor, and the fixtures themselves.

I know what you’re thinking. Is there a weird beige toilet? And old-timey wooden towel racks? Yes and yes.

So plan A was to use white, just try to wash out and minimize the band-aid-shade. It didn’t work, the whole room looked slightly less dingy, but it only enhanced the pinky beige. So, I moved on to plan B, which was to make a distracting shower curtain. I couldn’t buy a distracting shower curtain, because I’m not kidding, that color is the devil. You can’t put anything next to it (trust me, I tried) except other colors from the era that spawned it, like rusty browns and rosy pinks and, like, apricot. So this is what I came up with:

I think it works. Patchwork is distracting and seems reminiscent of the 70s, anyway. I don’t usually go in for those holly-hobby-calico florals, but it seemed like a good idea for this.

So then I had extra fabric and so I made curtains for the kitchen window and the door of our “pantry.” I took pictures of those, but the pictures just aren’t good, so I’m not posting them. It’s just more patchwork with the same fabrics, anyway. Here’s a picture of Socks sleeping on the washing machine instead:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 9, 2010 11:06 am

    Shower curtain looks great – it does kinda look vintage. Good work!

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      October 9, 2010 1:12 pm

      Thanks, mama! I used French seams, so it’s nice and tidy, even on the back.

Leave a Reply

