Skip to content

I can’t tell if this is stupid

September 30, 2010
tags:

So, the kitchen in our place is teeny, and I’ve been figuring out ways to maximize storage. I put some shelves in the closet with the water heater for a makeshift pantry.

So I rigged this thing up to go next to the kitchen. I’m still not sure if I like it or not. That could be because it’s stupid. It could also be because I saw a couple of nice pieces of real furniture that would look great in that spot and serve the same purpose, but I’m not sure I want to spend the money.

Anyway, tell me what you think. I took a basic metal shelf unit, sewed a “box” to fit over it (with a front flap so I can use the shelves) and got a classy piece of plywood cut to size for the top. My intention was to put the whole thing on some plastic bed risers, so it would be counter-height, but that DEFINITELY looked bad.

Front view:

Inside view:

Side view:

In context:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Roger permalink
    October 1, 2010 12:53 am

    I think it’s wabi-sabi.

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    October 1, 2010 4:18 am

    I don’t think it looks stupid, but it does look small. Not small as in “out of proportion,” just small as in “does it hold enough to be worth the effort”?

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      October 1, 2010 8:19 am

      Yeah, it isn’t big, but I think it’s an okay size for that spot. It would be nice to have a long, shallow cabinet to go along that whole wall, but that sounds expensive. In terms of being worth the effort, most of my projects probably don’t meet that standard. Like, next I’m sewing a shower curtain.

  3. October 7, 2010 7:26 am

    I definitely don’t think it looks stupid. I’ve seen this sort of thing more in bathrooms to hide unsightly toiletries rather than unsightly pepper and milk, so that seems kind of funny to me. But then, I tend to let all my kitchen junk show out in the open, so what do I know? Sure makes me feel like a lazy-ass for complaining when the IKEA in Emeryville doesn’t have an item in stock and I have to go to EPA…

Leave a Reply

