Skip to content

Thanks, lady!

September 23, 2010

Hey friends. Sorry I’ve been a bad blogger lately. I’ve been busier than the proverbial one-legged man in a kickfight, with work-work and also trying to get the house in working order. There will be photos soon, I promise!

Today, in the interest of said working order, I was running errands all over the island and stopped at Thai Smoothie and Grill for lunch. Thai Smoothie and Grill is awesome. It’s a breakfast and lunch place in Ordot (I think) built out of a red-and-white-striped shipping container with picnic tables out front. One of their signs has the word “smoothie” misspelled as “smoothei,” which would normally drive me crazy, but I sort of like it, because in my head I pronounce it “smooth-AY” which sounds way more fun than a plain smoothie.

Anyway, so these three nice old ladies started chatting me up while they were waiting for their food. They were so nice! And entertaining. We were talking about the food; the lady sitting across from me had ordered the green curry and was recommending it. I said I hadn’t tried it yet, but that I would on my next visit, that I was planning on working my way through the entire menu. And SHE SAID: “Yeah, you can do that. You have a sexy body. You’re not fat.”

And I said: “Wow, thanks!”

Fantastic! I didn’t realize that exactly the boost I needed today was for a stranger say exactly those words to me, but it put me in a great mood for the rest of the day.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    September 24, 2010 10:13 pm

    Oh my god, that is the most amazing thing I have heard in 6 weeks. I need to move to Guam, here in the cafeteria, they just give me smaller portion sizes than they do all the skinny Chinese assistant teachers and look at me funny when I go back for seconds. hahaha! Today was pizza day…it wasn’t pretty. hahaha!!! Can’t wait to come visit! Kisses from the PRC!

Leave a Reply

