Skip to content

harvest time

September 7, 2010

Oh my goodness, oh my goodness. Pardon the poor picture quality. I was really excited!

SO, last weekend, John bought a machete (available at Home Depot):
Which he used to cut the husk off of a raggedy-looking coconut that was in the yard:
And then he cut it open and we ate it!
It was awesome. We ate the whole thing. My yard waste is way more delicious than your yard waste, unless you have a BLT tree or something. I can’t wait to try lots of delicious coconut concoctions.

In other news, many many boxes arrived on Friday and the settling in is going pretty well. I wasted some time and attention on Sunday looking for some dishes that don’t actually exist, and it’s a little overwhelming trying to figure out how to organize everything, but the positives FAR outweigh the negatives: it is so wonderful to sleep in a real bed and cut food with sharp knives.

Oh, and I should pretend not to care about this, but our cable TV is fantastic. They even gave us Discovery Health, so I could watch freaky surgeries all day long if I wanted to (and if I had the time).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

