Skip to content

Vegetable bliss

August 22, 2010

For the first time since July 8, I have a crisper drawer full of fresh produce. This makes me really, really happy. After about six weeks of living on restaurant food or cheese and crackers in the hotel, it’s such a relief to eat some fresh veggies. I mean, we’ve found some great restaurants, but still.

Also, because I couldn’t find a lot of information online before we got here, I was really worried that the grocery situation was going to be dire. But it’s fine. Better than fine, even. So far, I’ve found local bananas (the small ones, delicious), papayas (gigantic, delicious), cucumber (narrow and curly and delicious), long beans, eggplant (the skinny purple ones), basil (the Thai variety) and okra. I also found very reasonably priced and lovely imported broccoli, cabbage and romaine lettuce. All this at the regular grocery store! I haven’t explored the farmers markets yet. Granted, it’s not Santa Cruz, but based on what I’d read, I had the impression that we’d only have access to Spam and Tabasco sauce. The selection and price of wine is pretty bad, but the climate makes wine seem gross, anyway.

Also, this is unrelated, but let me know if I can help with any collections you may have. So far I’ve received requests for:
local children’s games
sand
pictures of garbage on the beach

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

