Skip to content

Life Story

July 31, 2010

So I’m working on one of those online survey translations, which are often awesome. One of the questions from today’s was: “If there was a book about your life story, what would be the title?” A lot of people put things like “Roller Coaster Ride” or simply “My Life.” But my favorite survey-taker so far would call hers…

“How the Ugly Duckling Became a Pharmacist.”

You can’t make this stuff up, folks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    November 17, 2010 10:24 am

    Oh man! I edited this one! I kept interrupting Antje to read her those answers. One of the most entertaining projects I’ve ever worked on.

    • arlemonbar permalink*
      November 17, 2010 8:17 pm

      Did you work on the one a couple of years ago when they were about to release “Terminator: Salvation”? They asked people who had selected “I’m not interested in this movie” to explain why, and one guy wrote: “Too many robots.” Zu viele Roboter!

      • Chris permalink
        December 4, 2010 8:25 am

        No, but I can totally picture a German dude saying that dismissively. I did work on some part of that though. We had to get a translator to call a number and read a script out loud describing “Terminator: Salvation” and other movies and then people were supposed to say whether the description sounded appealing. And I had to call this number just to hear the translator’s recording. I remember when it came to one of the Transformer movies, she kept saying Optimus Pri-me (like “prima!”) and I had to find evidence that that was the incorrect way of pronouncing it in German by watching a bunch of old Transformers cartoons in German on YouTube. I think I watched about 8 before someone finally said Optimus ‘Preim’.

Leave a Reply

